09 - Collier County Asks Consumers to Report Suspected Price Gouging to State
Collier County Asks Consumers to Report Suspected Price Gouging to State
As Hurricane Irma threatens Florida, there might be people who want to profit on the needs of consumers as they work to prepare for the storm. Attorney General Pam Bondi has activated Florida’s price gouging hotline for all consumers in Florida, and Collier County officials urge consumers to report price gouging to this hotline.
Anyone who suspects price gouging should report it to Bondi’s office by calling 1-866-9-NO-SCAM (966-7226).
State law prohibits extreme increases in the price of essential commodities, including food, water, hotels, ice, gasoline, lumber and equipment, needed as a direct result of a declared emergency.
Violators of the price gouging statute are subject to civil penalties of $1,000 per violation and up to a total of $25,000 for multiple violations committed in a single 24-hour period, in addition to other civil penalties that may apply. State law also criminalizes the sale of goods and services to the public without possession of an occupational license. Violators can be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor.
For more information, visit www.myfloridalegal.com.