What Effect Does the Governor's Emergency Orders have on Existing Permits?
Executive Order 20-52, issued March 9, 2020, qualifies as a “natural emergency” pursuant to Florida law, which allows for the tolling of certain permits for the duration of the emergency declaration and for up to six months in addition to the tolled period (see s.252.363, F.S.).
This applies to the following:
1. The expiration of a development order issued by a local government
2. The expiration of a building permit
3. The expiration of a permit issued by the Florida Department of Environmental Protection or a water management district pursuant to part IV of Chapter 373, F.S.
4. The buildout date of a development of regional impact, including any extension of a buildout date that previously granted as specified in s.380.06(7)(c), F.S.
An extension is a request submitted to reactivate and/or extend the life of a building application or building permit
Extensions are for permits that have been issued and are nearing/or have reached their expiration date.
Click image to download form
Building Application Extension Process
Allow up to 2 business days from the initial date extension is requested.
- Licensed contractor/owner-builder or design professional submits an extension request.
- BPRS group reviews request.
- You will be notified via email.
- Applicable fees will need to be paid at time of permit pickup.
Is your building application in an expired status?
Prior to your application being expired was it in reject status?
- Submit a building application extension form and once it is approved you will have an additional 90 days to submit corrections. This also applies to revisions that have outstanding correction comments that didn’t get addressed within the 180 day timeframe.
Prior to your application being expired was it is a ready for issuance status?
- Submit a building application extension form and once it is approved you will have an additional 90 days to get your permit issued.
- If you submitted in person you will need to pick up your building permit, if it was submitted on the portal you will receive an email once the permit has been issued.
General Permit Extension Process
Allow up to 7 business days from the initial date extension is requested.
- Licensed contractor/owner-builder submits extension request.
- BPRS reviews request.
- BPRS sends requestor email about extension request outcome.
- If extension fee is applied, fee is required to be paid prior to pursuing pending permit-related items.
- Licensed contractor/owner-builder addresses pending permit-related items.
Extending an Older Permit (1959-October 2011)
What should I expect when extending an older permit?
- Make sure you have a job site copy. Contact our Records Room at 239-252-5730 or GMDRecordsRoom@colliercountyfl.gov. Allow 3-5 business days for files to arrive.
- BPRS will provide you a new permit and inspection job card, after your extension request is approved.
- Prior to scheduling a pending inspection(s), make sure you have your permit, inspection job card and job site copy of plans on the job site visible for our inspectors.
What should I expect when extending an older permit application?
- You cannot extend an older permit application. A new permit application is required to be submitted.
Once I extended my older permit, do the same extension rules apply when extending a current permit?
Extending a Current Permit (October 2011-Present)
Who can submit an extension request?
- Individual who has signed the qualifiers page within permit application.
Can the property owner submit an extension request?
- No. Although the property owner owns the property, individual who submitted a permit application owns the permit application/permit.
- Allow up to 7 business days.
- Before or after your permit expires.
How much time is added to my permit?
- 90 calendar days.
How much time is added if I submit an extension request before my permit expires?
- 90 calendar days from the current expiration date.
How much time is added if I submit an extension request after my permit has expired?
- 90 calendar days from the date BPRS processes extension.
How much does an extension request cost?
- Minimum $100.00, but not to exceed $500.00.
- Refer to Section ‘Y’ of our fee schedule for extension fees.
How many times can I submit an extension request?
- Three attempts. Additional request must be approved by the Building Official.
Can I extend my permit if it is in a VOID status?
- No, You will need to submit a new permit application.
Information coming soon !
Information coming soon !
Building Permit Extension
Is your permit in an issued status?
- You will need to have an inspection result in pass/partial pass/pass with notes within 180 calendar days from the date permit application was issued.
Do I get additional time if my inspection results in a pass/partial pass/pass with notes?
- Yes. An additional 180 calendar days is added to the current expiration date from the last passed inspection.
What if I pass multiple inspections on the same day?
- 180 calendar days are added from the last passed inspection.
- Example. You pass your 115 and 502 inspections on January 1st, 2019. Permit expiration date extends 180 calendar days from January 1st, 2019. You do not get 180 calendar days for each passed inspection if passed on the same day.
Is your permit in an inspection commenced status?
- Yes. You will need to schedule and pass any remaining inspections and address other permit-related items.
Is your permit in an inspection completed status?
- Yes. Make sure:
- All your fees are paid.
- Conditions are resolved.
- All inspections have passed.
- If there are no additional permit-related items, email our inspections section at Inspections@colliercountyfl.gov and request a certificate of completion/occupancy.
What will not extend the life of my permit?
- Receiving a fail as an inspection result.
- Paying an outstanding balance.
- Submitting any required documents: survey, compaction test, elevation certificate, etc.
- Scheduling an inspection.
- Submitting a revision.